About


hEY THERE. wELCOME TO Sunlight Scholar!

i’M rACHEL mASS

I am the original creator and currently the only human being behind the operation of the Sunlight Scholar blog. I am 25 years old and use they/tem or she/her pronouns. Ihave lived in Northeast Ohio, 

I’m 24 years old and have lived in Northeast Ohio my entire life. I spent most of my life and Youngstown, then moved to Kent for a few years for college. I graduated from Kent State University with a Bachelor of Arts in English and minors in Political Science and Philosophy in December 2018 and move back to Youngstown for a while. Just a few months ago, my boyfriend and I relocated to a new apartment in Akron. Suddenly finding myself in a completely familiar but much more pleasant environment is one of the major inspirations behind starting this blog.

I currently work as a research and administrative assistant for an international online medical certification organization and also do some freelance creative work on the side. I do a lot of voluntary work with non-profit organizations, especially ones with a focus on fighting the War on Drugs and prison-industrial complex and offering unconditional compassion and harm reduction services to people who use drugs. I am extremely passionate about drug culture and policy and will probably refer to it a lot on this blog. I also am planning to pursue a Masters’ degree in Library & Information Science sometime in the (hopefully) near future.

You can find more detail about my background and who I am as a person here if you’re curious! 

Discover Now